January 27, 2023

Missouri Veterans Commission Welcomes New Commissioner

JEFFERSON CITY – The Missouri Veterans Commission welcomes new Commissioner Representative Dave Griffith. Griffith was appointed to the Commission on January 26, 2023 by Speaker of the Missouri House of Representatives, Dean Plocher.

Representative Griffith represents Cole County (District 60) in the Missouri House of Representatives. Prior to his legislative duties, Griffith served as the executive director of the American Red Cross for six years. Griffith also served on the city council for Jefferson City. Prior to that, he spent 23 years working for KRCG TV in a variety of roles ranging from production to account executive. Griffith served in the U.S. Army 8th Special Forces Group as a Green Beret.

Representative Griffith filled the vacancy created by Representative Chuck Basye. Representative Basye served on the Commission from January 2021 to January 2023.

The Missouri Veterans Commission is composed of nine members. Two members of the Senate, one appointed by the president pro tem of the Senate and one appointed by the Senate minority floor leader. Two members of the House of Representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the House of Representatives and one appointed by the House minority floor leader. Five members are Veterans appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate.

The Missouri Veterans Commission operates seven state Veterans Homes, five state Veterans Cemeteries, and the Veterans Services Program. The Commission is committed to honoring and serving Missouri’s Veterans whose dedication and sacrifices have preserved our nation and its freedoms. For more information about the Missouri Veterans Commission programs, call 573-751-3779 or visit To learn more about the Missouri Veterans Commission, visit


For more information, call 573-522-4228 or e-mail